Quick Links

Main Navigation


For the People Logo

Awards and Scholarships

Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > CCOSA > OASSP > Awards and Scholarships >


Ajax Loading Image


E-mail Article

2014 OASSP High School Principal of the Year

February 14, 2013

Stacey Vernon Named 2013-14 Oklahoma State
High School Principal of the Year

Photo of Stacey VernonOklahoma City, OK - Stacey Vernon, Principal at Will Rogers College Junior High and High School in Tulsa, has been selected as the 2014 MetLife/NASSP Oklahoma High School Principal of the Year by the Oklahoma Association of Secondary School Principals.

“We congratulate Mrs. Vernon for being selected as Oklahoma’s High School Principal of the Year, she was chosen from an outstanding pool of applicants from throughout the state” said Dr. Vickie Williams, Executive Director of OASSP.

Upon learning of this award, Mrs. Vernon said “I am very surprised and humbled by this honor. I view this as a tribute to the amazing staff and student body that we have at Will Rogers. It is definitely a collaborative effort and they share this recognition with me.”

Vernon began her career as a teacher, later serving as Assistant Principal and Principal at Thomas Edison High School in the Tulsa Public Schools. In 2011 she took on the challenge of becoming the principal at Tulsa’s first early college high school, Will Rogers College Junior High and High School. She recruited a new staff, including administrators, teachers, and support staff to become part of the school improvement process. This innovative school develops a six year plan for each student, taking into account their interests and skills, and helps achieve higher test scores, assists with career planning, and allows the students to earn college credits.

Mrs. Vernon has employed a collaborative leadership style, engaging not only the staff and students, but also the parents and community. Will Rogers consists of a widely diverse student population and has a high number of students qualifying for free and reduced lunches. Yet, the rate of success in just one year has been astounding.

“While there is only one year of data available for this student body, that data is amazing: test scores that surpass every high school in the city for two EOI areas and are second highest on two other EOI areas, high volunteerism within the school, steadily improving discipline rates, low dropout rates, and one of the highest school value added results in Tulsa Public Schools” said Vernon.

Paula Langston, mother of Donovan Langston, an eighth grader at Will Rogers, stated that “an extremely impressive asset that Mrs. Vernon possesses is her ability to communicate with her students and parents in their native language. She speaks fluent Spanish and ALWAYS conducts her meetings and presentations in both English and Spanish.”

Mrs. Vernon has also been involved in the Tulsa Model Teacher and Leader Effectiveness system – implementing a unique plan to improve upon the success of the teachers she evaluates. She has served on panels, given numerous presentations, and had a feature article on TLE in Tulsa People Magazine. She recently served on the State CCSSO Common Core Team, and has participated in several Gates Foundation professional development opportunities.

Steve Mayfield, Tulsa Public Schools Chief of Staff wrote that “An educators job is to look into the future and see education not as it is, but how it can be. Highly effective leaders, such as Stacey, see the future with optimism and confidence.”

Finalists for the Oklahoma High School Principal of the Year Award included:

  • Todd Glasgow, Principal, Piedmont High School
  • Tracy Skinner, Principal, Deer Creek High School
  • Patty Stanley, Principal, Newkirk High School

As the Oklahoma High School Principal of the Year, Stacey is now eligible for the MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year Award. State Principals of the Year participate in the NASSP Principals Institute and Awards Gala, to be held September 18-21 in Washington, DC.

Vernon was selected by a committee of former recipients of the Oklahoma award and will be honored by colleagues from the Oklahoma Association of Secondary School Principals at the CCOSA Summer Conference, June 6-7 at the Embassy Suites in Norman. OASSP is under the umbrella of the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration.  CCOSA is an incorporated, non-profit organization serving over 2800 Oklahoma superintendents, assistant superintendents, principals, special education directors, and central office administrators.


Back To Top